The explanation of this term is still based on the Federal Elections Act valid for the 2021 Bundestag election. This page will be updated shortly in view of the most recent amendment to the Federal Elections Act.

Joint parliamentary group of the CDU/CSU

The CDU and the CSU are two different parties with separate nominations. In the German Bundestag they form a joint parliamentary group. Section 10 (1) of the Rules of Procedure of the German Bundestag permits the formation of joint parliamentary groups by parties which do not compete in any Land due to convergent political goals.

The CDU and the CSU pursue common political goals. The CSU stands for election in Bavaria only, the CDU in all other Länder. Their election results are presented separately by the Federal Returning Officer, but are often counted together in the media, to which there is no objection.

As they are two separate parties, on Bundestag elections each has to obtain at least 5 % of the valid second votes cast in the electoral area – that is in the entire territory of the Federal Republic – in order to participate in the allocation of seats to Land lists.

Legal bases

Bundestag election:

Section 4 (2) of the Federal Elections Act

Last update: 20 October 2023