Parliamentary groups

Parliamentary groups are associations of members of a parliament who pursue the same political objectives.

A parliamentary group in the German Bundestag must consist of at least 5 % of Bundestag members who pursue the same objectives and do not compete with each other in any Land. The consent of the Bundestag is needed if Bundestag members wishing to form a parliamentary group do not meet these requirements.

A political group in the European Parliament must comprise a minimum of 23 members elected in at least one quarter of the EU member states. As a consequence, all these parliamentary groups are multinational and involve several countries.

Legal bases

Bundestag election:

Rule 10 of the Rules of Procedure of the German Bundestag; Sections 45 to 54 of the Act on the Legal Status of Members of the German Bundestag (AbgG)

European election:

Rule 33 of the Rules of Procedure of the European Parliament

Last update: 23 May 2023