Polling hours

At Bundestag elections, polling stations are open for polling from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

In particular cases where special circumstances so dictate, the Land returning officer may stipulate that polling shall begin earlier.

The same regulations apply in European elections.

Legal bases

Bundestag election:

Section 47 of the Federal Electoral Regulations (BWO)

European election:

Section 40 of the European Electoral Regulations (EuWO)

Last update: 13 February 2023